Print this page

Combatants for The Battle of Carthage

Sigel's Second Brigade [28]

Franz Sigel as Brigadier-General of Federal volunteers Francis Hassendeubel, Lieutenant-Colonel of Federal volunteers

Colonel Franz Sigel, Commander

  • Third Missouri Volunteer Infantry Regiment (550) – Lieutenant-Colonel Francis Hassendeubel
  • Fifth Missouri Volunteer Infantry Regiment (400) – Colonel Charles E. Salomon
  • Two artillery batteries (4 guns each) – Major Franz Backoff

Missouri State Guard [29]

Missouri Governor Claiborne Fox Jackson

Claiborne Fox Jackson, Commander

Major-General Sterling Price was not present during the Battle of Carthage because he had headed south to enlist support from the Confederates under Brigadier-General Ben McCulloch. Although Missouri Governor Claiborne Fox Jackson was in overall command, he may have delegated operational command to Brigadier-General James Spencer Rains. If that was the case, then command of the Eighth Division would have devolved to Colonel Richard H. Weightman.

  • Third Division (365 infantry) – Brigadier-General John B. Clark, Sr.
  • Fourth Division (1,200 infantry and cavalry) – Brigadier-General William Y. Slack
  • 1st Missouri: Colonel John T. Hughes, Lieutenant-Colonel James Pritchard
  • Thornton's Battalion: Major John C. Thornton
  • 1st Cavalry: Colonel Benjamin A. Rives
  • Sixth Division (650) – Brigadier-General Mosby Parsons
    • Guibor's Battery (4 guns) – Captain Henry Guibor
  • Eighth Division (1,812 infantry and cavalry) – Brigadier-General James Spencer Rains (Colonel Richard H. Weightman)
    • Bledsoe's Battery (3 guns): Captain Hiram M. Bledsoe
  • There were also approximately 2,000 unarmed recruits that stayed in the rear during the battle.

Brigadier-General John B. Clark, Sr. Brigadier-General William Y. Slack Colonel John T. Hughes

Brigadier-General Mosby Parsons Colonel Richard H. Weightman Captain Hiram M. Bledsoe

The Muse South African